Share Market
Holiday 2021


Indian share market holidays are days when trading remains closed. At the beginning of each year, NSE, BSE, MCX, and all the exchanges publish a list of holidays. These lists are critical for traders to plan trades.

Stock exchanges remain closed on national and state holidays. In 2021, there are 14 trading holidays, including five extended weekends, because the holidays are falling on either Friday or Monday.

Find below the complete list of share market holidays below.

Share Market Holiday List 2021

Sr. No Holidays Date Day
1 Republic Day January 26, 2021 Tuesday
2 Mahashivratri March 11, 2021 Thursday
3 Holi March 29, 2021 Monday
4 Good Friday April 02, 2021 Friday
5 Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti April 14, 2021 Wednesday
6 Ram Navami April 21, 2021 Wednesday
7 Id-ul-Fitr (Ramazan Id) May 13, 2021 Thursday
8 Bakri Id July 21, 2021 Wednesday
9 Muharram August 19, 2021 Thursday
10 Ganesh Chaturthi September 10, 2021 Friday
11 Dussehra October 15, 2021 Friday
12 Diwali/Laxmi Puja November 04, 2021 Thursday
13 Diwali Balipratipada November 05, 2021 Friday
14 Gurunanak Jayanti November 19, 2021 Monday

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I buy stocks when the market is closed?

You can place an order to purchase stocks through an after-market order when the trading session gets closed. All orders placed after 3:30 pm, when the market closes are after-market orders, enter the system when the market opens the next day during the pre-trading session.

Is the stock market open on Saturday?

On all Saturdays and Sundays, the stock market remains closed as weekly holidays. The stock market functions for five days a week, from Monday to Friday, between 9:15 am to 3:30 pm.

How does a holiday affect the stock market?

Holidays and weekly off increase the time of settlement, which can impact the outcome of a trade. In 2021, stock markets will have five extended weekends because the holidays are falling either on Fridays or Mondays. We suggest you plan your trades keeping this in mind.

Are Saturday and Sunday a stock market holiday?

On Saturdays and Sundays, the stock market remains closed as weekly holidays. The market again opens on Monday at 9:15 am.

Enjoy Free Equity

Delivery Trade for Lifetime

Get the link to download the app

Enjoy Lifetime Free Delivery Trade

Download the app now

Or Scan below QR Code

to download App

Open an account